Book Recs from a Book Worm

On sunny days, nothing beats laying by the pool, lemonade in hand, reading a good book. Over the summer, when I’m not drowning in school work, I fly through my reading list. My favorite thing to do at the beach is lay out in the sand reading a good novel. Due to my insane reading habits (one summer I was at the beach and I read 7 books in 7 days… Oops) I’ve read a fair share of books. From mysteries to romances, sitting in the sun and diving into a great novel. Here’s a list of my favorite books in a variety of genres! books

  1. Before I Fall // Lauren Oliver // young adult: If you’re looking for a book that will get you thinking, this is the one for you. With a creative concept, romance, and a bit of mystery, you won’t want to put this book down. It follows a girl Samantha who keeps reliving the same day over and over again, and must figure out why and how to break the cycle.
  2. Every Day // David Levithan // romance: Again, this is one of the most creative book concepts I’ve ever read. The main character wakes up every morning in a different body, and when they fall in love with someone, they must figure out what to do. The author perfectly mixes romance with intrigue in one of the most interesting books I’ve ever read.
  3. The Fault In Our Stars // John Green // young adult: If you’ve never heard of this book, you must live under a rock. John Green (my all time favorite author) somehow weaves his great sense of humor into such a serious and sad book. You will laugh out loud, and you will cry. Warning: it is about a girl with cancer, so if that hits home for you, this may not be the best book for you to read. The movie comes out June 6, so make sure to read the book before you see the movie!
  4. The Vincent Brothers // Abbi Glines // romance: If you’re looking for a quick and easy read this is a great book to pick up! It’s the typical teen-romance novel, great for a light read on the beach or on a plane to keep you entertained (I picked it up in an airport).
  5. Walking Disaster // Jamie McGuire // romance: I read this book in 48 hours, it is that addicting. A well written romance, the book follows the intense and crazy relationship of college kids Abby and Travis. This book is from Travis’s point of view, and her other book Beautiful Disaster is from Abby’s! I actually read Beautiful before Walking, but it can be read in either order.
  6. The Host // Stephanie Meyer // science fiction: I know what you’re thinking, and yes, Stephanie Meyer did write Twilight. But this book is 100 times better, and has no vampires. There are a sort of alien species, but Meyer does a great job of keeping them realistic and not distracting. This thrilling book is filled with twists and turns. The writing is great and I loved visualizing the setting and their world. And of course, a great romantic plot drives the book. PS don’t judge this book by its movie because it was terrible.
  7. What Do You Want To Do Before You Die? // The Buried Life // young adult: Do you remember that TV show on MTV called The Buried Life? No? Go watch it on Netflix right now. 4 guys travel around, crossing things off their list of thing they want to do before they die. For every thing they cross of their list, they help a stranger cross something off theirs. It’s so good and inspirational. Well, they wrote a book about it to. It talks about their journey, but most of it is thing off of people’s list. It is really cool to look at. Mine is special to me because I got the book signed. AH.
  8. Gone Girl // Gillian Flynn // thriller: This is sort of a bonus book, because I haven’t finished reading it yet. It is about a man who comes home to find out his wife is gone, and he has to find out how to get her back. It keeps me on edge, and is written really neat because one chapter is from his perspective in the present, and the next is an old diary entry of the wife telling background about their story.

Have you read any of these books? Do you have any other suggestions for me to read? Let me know!

Leave a Reply

