What to Watch: Documentaries

My friends are all making fun of me for being a “nerd” (what’s new?) because I’m newly obsessed with documentaries! All I’ve been talking about is what I watched the night before and which one I want to see today. I love all the options. There are so many choices of what to watch, and they cover such a wide array of topics so I feel like there is one for everyone. I found a great list on The College Prepster and decided to edit it a little and share it with you! So if you are looking for a good documentary to watch, here are some that seem really interesting to me.

Please Subscribe || Explores the world of YouTubing and looks into the lives of those who create content for a living.
Blackfish || This documentary phenomenon looks into the controversial practices of Sea World and the fascinating lives of Killer Whales in captivity.
First Position || Follows six young ballet dancers as they prepare to enter one of the world’s largest ballet competitions.
No Cameras Allowed || Marcus Haney takes you along as he sneaks into some of the world’s largest and most well known music festivals.
Hot Coffee || Shows what really happened to the woman who spilled McDonald’s coffee on herself and sued from a whole different perspective.
Supersize Me || This infamous documentary follows a man who ate only McDonalds for 30 days and analyzes the health effects it had.
I’m Vlogging Here || Follows Shay Carl and other famous YouTubers to show just how much YouTube has changed their lives.
The September Issue || This movie shows just how much work is put into printing the most important issue of Vogue Magazine, and just how terrifying the editor Anna Wintour is (in my silly opinion).
My Kid Could Paint That || Follows a young girl who’s paintings start selling for thousands of dollars, and the controversy that followed over weather she actually painted them by herself.
Bowling for Columbine || Explores the tragedy of the Columbine shooting and its effect on gun control.
Mudbloods || From the world of Harry Potter, this film follows the UCLA Quidditch team and their journey to the Quidditch World Cup.
The Queen of Versailles || Take a peek at the financial troubles and ostentatious lifestyle of a billionaire family after an economic crisis.
Scatter My Ashes in Bergdorfs || Take a backstage look at the most upscale department store: Bergdorf Goodman.
Smash His Camera || Examines the life of celebrities and the effect of the paparazzi.
The Woman Who Wasn’t There || The story of a 9/11 survivor… and the investigation to find out if she was ever really in the Twin Towers.
Catfish || The movie that started it all follows Nev and his journey to meet the supposed love of his life, who he has only ever talked to over the internet.

I cannot wait to watch all of these! Have y’all seen any of them, and do you have any other favorite documentaries to suggest? Let me know!

P.S. Writing this made me realize I am terrible at writing quick summaries of movies… oh well.

One thought on “What to Watch: Documentaries

  1. Helen says:

    Great list! I’m a bit of a documentaries junkie myself and ‘ve seen quite a few of these and there are some on your list that I haven’t heard of! Looking forward to checking it out. Off the top of my head, some more documentaries that might be of interest to you are: Exit Through the Gift Shop, L’Amour Fou, Ai Weiwei: Never Sorry, Being Elmo and The Imposter.

Leave a Reply

