Tips for Walking 10,000 Steps Every Day!

steps2

Now that I have made it a goal to walk at least 10,000 steps every day (which I track using a Jawbone Up, pictures above), I realize how lazy I can be! If I don’t have anything specific planned for the day, it can be extremely challenging to reach my goal. I usually find myself walking laps around my house at 11:00 every night in order to get 1,000 more steps before midnight.

Because of this, I have been on the look out for little things I can do to get some extra steps in! All of these are tiny habits I have picked up in order to keep my legs moving a little bit more in my journey to 10,000. Even if you aren’t counting your steps, these are good habits to make to stay a tiny bit more active.

  1. Park far away || Whenever I’m not in a rush (which, let’s be honest, is not very often), I have made an effort to pass up that front row parking spot and opt for a space a bit farther away. The difference may seem small, but getting in the habit can add just a few more steps to your day.
  2. Take the long way || Kind of like parking farther away, I have found myself taking the long way to class in order to sneak in a few extra steps. Every moment counts!
  3. Skip the elevator || Okay, so this may not be too realistic if you work on the 15th floor of an office building, but switching from the elevator to the stairs can definitely add some quick cardio to your day!
  4. Split up trips || Do you ever load up your arms with grocery bags to avoid having to make multiple trips back to the car? Stop it! Split up tour trips to keep yourself moving a little bit longer.
  5. Pace while brushing || Make it a habit to walk around your bathroom or bedroom while brushing your teeth every morning or night. You’ll be surprised just how many steps you can reach in a minute!

While individually these things may seem insignificant, doing each of these every day can add a good amount of pep to your step! As I have been learning in my fitness journey, sometimes it is the small things that add up to big changes.

5 thoughts on “Tips for Walking 10,000 Steps Every Day!

  1. Michelle says:

    I tried commenting on this once already and my iPad spazzed and made it seem it failed. Here goes another attempt …

    One way I increase my steps (that may sound strange) – I jog in place in front of the TV! This lets me watch Netflix AND get active minutes – score! 🙂

Leave a Reply

