Do What You Love

Do What You Lovesource

In Kindergarten, we had a career day where everyone showed up to school dressed as what they wanted to be when they grew up. There were countless doctors and firefighters, even a gymnast. I dressed as a teacher. Yes, as a six year old, my dream was to teach. As school went on, and elementary school transitioned to middle school, I quickly realized teaching was not my calling. Now, teaching would probably be number one on my list of “Jobs I Will Never Ever Have”.

This summer, I am blessed with the opportunity to work in the field of my current dream job! I get to combine my love for adventure, Jesus, and videography to work at Laity Lodge Youth Camp! I have been hired to be on the media team as a videographer. I will be filming campers as they have the best two weeks of their lives, and creating a video for them every session. This is seriously a dream come true; I get to work in the place I love doing what I love! God has blessed me with this opportunity to serve Him with my talents and skills.

With that being said, I think it is important for people to do what they love. I know that I probably won’t be able to spend the rest of my life creating videos for a living, but I am so thankful for this time time I do get to spend enjoying the work I do. And, who knows, maybe this is the start of a life-long career (fingers crossed)!

What is your dream job? What did you want to be when you were younger?

One thought on “Do What You Love

Leave a Reply

