Staying in Shape with Orange Theory

It seems like every month I am trying out some new way to try and stay in shape. Well I think my search has come to an end! Have y’all tried Orange Theory Fitness? I’m obsessed! (You may have seen me tweet about it). I am not a very athletic person, but I do try my best to stay in shape. I’ve been going for two months now, and let me tell you, it is the perfect workout!

Orangetheory-Fitness-Logo-HI-RES3

I love everything about it. The classes are kinda large, but the instructor does a great job at paying attention to everyone. Each class is only one hour, but the workout is great! A usual work out consists of 30 minutes of cardio on a treadmill, and 30 minutes divided between the weight room and rowing machines.

Their theory and method is innovative, and it works! Orange Theory gives you a heart rate monitor, and your heart rate is displayed on a screen inside the gym. This always pressures me to work harder when my heart rate falls! The goal is to keep your heart rate in the Green or Orange zone during your workout. Green is where you burn the most calories, and orange means you’ll continue to burn them after the workout is ended! (They do a better job of explaining all of this on their website). They send you a report after each workout. Here is mine from my last workout!

orange theory

The best part about Orange Theory is anyone can do it! I am always one of the least athletic people in my class, and I never feel bad about it! On the treadmill portion, you can choose to power walk (me), jog, or run. Each weight room exercise is explained in detail and can be tailored to your skill set. I didn’t have to have any prior workout knowledge! Trust me, if I can do it, you can do it. The first session is free, so I would go to a local studio and sign up!

What is your favorite way to stay in shape? Have you ever been to Orange Theory? How did you like it?

P.S. I wasn’t paid to say any of this. I just really like their workout!

Leave a Reply

